Happy Memorial Day!

I want to start this blog post by paying my respects to each and every man and woman who has sacrificed everything in order to protect and defend the freedoms I enjoy and have unfortunately many times taken for granted.  To each and every serviceman/woman…to each and every family member of those who have given their life in the name of the United States of America…to each and every member of our armed forces whom has served or is currently serving…I say THANK YOU and GOD BLESS YOU!!


In the splendor of a long holiday weekend, we have really enjoyed our quality family time.  On Saturday we went to Sam’s parents’ home for a BBQ with some of his family.  Yesterday the girls spent the day with Grandma while Sam & I enjoyed a date day at Niagara Falls.  It was sunny and about 86 degrees.  The mist from the falls was perfect to refract the sunshine into stunning rainbows more bold in color than I had ever seen (I was so bummed that I hadn’t taken my camera with me).  Today we decided to “get away from it all” for a few hours and took a day trip down to Erie, PA.  We were able to get some shopping done (gotta love tax free clothes!) and had lunch at Chick-Fil-A!!  That may not seem like a big deal to some of you, but Chick-Fil-A is a family favorite of ours and the location we patronized today is the closest one to us…1-1/2 hours away!!!  They HAPPILY bend over backwards to accommodate Ivy’s gluten issues which is just so hard to find and we greatly appreciate it.  I so wish we had a location in the Buffalo area!!

Even though I have thoroughly enjoyed the holiday weekend, I am still in shock that it came upon us so quickly!  June begins tomorrow.  We are nearly 1/2 way through 2010 already!  I am excited to announce that after only 1 month as an Arbonne consultant, I am in qualification for District Manager!  I am hoping to achieve the title fully by the end of June.  The added income is certainly going to help spur the adoption process for us.  Speaking of the adoption, I don’t have a whole lot to update on.  Our home study agency requires us to complete their training seminar before the home visit, so we still have a few weeks before we can take that next step.  The training is scheduled for June 18-19 in Rochester, NY.  It sucks that it’s Father’s Day weekend and also the last weekend of the annual fishing tournament Sam does with his dad, but it’s a small sacrifice to build our family this way.  I’m in the process of gathering all the necessary paperwork and such before the training so that we will have it all in place for the home visit.  With any luck we will be able to complete our home study next month, but we’re at the agency’s whim.  So far the hardest part has been working on our autobiographies.  Sam & I each have to (individually) write out a descriptive of ourselves…who we are, who/what shaped us into the adults we’ve become, our parenting principals, why we wish to adopt, what we are looking for in an adopted child/children, etc.  It doesn’t go to our adoption agency or in our dossier, but it is required for our home study to help them know us better.  Hopefully we can get those finished up in the next couple weeks.

Well…that’s all for now.  With all I have on my agenda these next few weeks with dance rehearsals & performances & such, it may be a while before I post again.  Please know that our family greatly appreciates your prayers and support as we continue down the long & winding road ahead that will lead us to our newest addition(s) to the family.  Thank you!

One thought on “Happy Memorial Day!

  1. just wanna say its crazy sometimes but i’m sure it will all work you are very wonderful ppl. you know whats important to you and won’t let anything break that path. hope all goes quickly for you! luv ya!

Leave a Reply

