Another Step in the Right Direction

Wow…I knew it had been a while since I posted, but didn’t realize it had been 3 weeks!  With June comes warm sunny weather, dance recital and year-end school activities…so my computer time hasn’t been as plentiful.  That, of course, is a welcome change of pace…I so gleefully welcome warm sunshine!!  🙂

A lot has been processed in my brain these last few weeks regarding the adoption.  I’m so eager to bring our children home, but finding myself surprisingly thankful that it won’t be until next year.  Sam & I had 7 or 8 page questionnaires that we had to complete before the training seminar we had to attend this weekend…I found myself in awe of the difficulty I had answering some of the questions.  Not that I didn’t have an answer, but often I had never thought about the specific details to have to put it articulately in words.  I was so blessed when I read through Sam’s questionnaire to find so many of our answers so similar.  It confirmed for me that we are of one heart in this adventure…and that is all to the glory of God!

Our training seminar was mildly interesting and we met some lovely people who are adopting in a variety of ways, and I love hearing their stories!  One couple is originally from Algeria – they have 2 biological sons and are adopting 1-2 daughters from their native land.  Another couple has no children yet, and are hoping to adopt siblings from Columbia.  There was a couple trying to decide between embryo & newborn domestic adoption and the final couple was one I could have listened to all week!  They have 2 children adopted from Vietnam and 2 biological children.  They were missionaries for 2 years in Guinea, West Africa, and are returning there in private adoption to bring home a 1 year old boy named Jeremiah.  Every aspect of their lives intrigued me and I hope to have the opportunity to stay connected with them to see how beautiful the quilt of their family is woven to be.  I really love hearing & finding inspiration in everyone else’s story and hope to, one day, be an inspiration to others as well.

Sam & I are going for our fingerprinting this week…hopefully I can get Grandma to go too, and I will have all of the other paperwork pretty well gathered in the next week or 2, so HOPEFULLY we’ll finally be able to schedule our home visit and move toward our home study approval.  It funny…talking to so many other adoptive couples has really shown me a beautiful side of my faith…I have seen so much anxiety in people over time frames and road blocks, and I’m almost hesitant to admit (for fear of jinxing myself) that I have a wonderful sense of peace with everything.  I know we will adopt, though I don’t know for certain when.  I know that God will provide the means for us to bring home the child(ren) He has planned for us.  “And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.”  (Romans 8:28).  We feel God calling us to this purpose…His purpose…to provide a life for a child or children that might otherwise die in an orphanage in Africa, never having been nurtured or loved.

For now I must focus on what I can…the children already entrusted to my care.  I am growing each day as a mommy to these beautiful (and sometimes temperamental) little girls.  I am often amazed at how you can love a child more each day…even when it’s been a bad day.  I guess that’s just part of being a parent…and although we aren’t perfect (or even close)…I am so thankful to have Sam by my side, loving & caring so very much for me & our family each and every day.  We are truly blessed!  To all the amazing “Daddy”s out there: HAPPY FATHER’S DAY!!

Now to focus on the next major event…Mya’s Pre-K graduation tomorrow!!!  I can’t believe she’s off to school full time next year!  *sigh*

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

