One Baby Step Closer

So this morning was our USCIS Biometrics appointment.  I’m thrilled to report we were in & out of the Federal Building in under a 1/2 hour.  YAY!  Now we wait…praying each & every day that our I-600A will be approved & we’ll receive our I-171H in the mail quickly!

Our agency director emailed me Friday that we should prepare to travel in late July, but that we don’t have exact travel dates yet.  It’s been a bit nerve-wrecking as I’ve been checking flights almost every day and the price has more than doubled since receiving that email a week ago.  In an attempt to begin preparing for our trip, we made a stop at the store today and bought jump ropes & Frisbees to take to the orphanage/foster home.  I’m hoping to gather more & more donations each week until we leave.  Things like matchbox cars, matching games, puzzles, legos, etc.  Simple toys/games that will enthrall Ghanaian children of all ages for hours.  If you’d like to contribute, let me know!  I will gladly pick up any NEW or LIKE NEW items.

While at the store I also bought a few sundresses & a swimsuit for our daughter as well as shorts, shirts & a pair of swim trunks for our son.  Other Ghanaian adoptive parents have told me that swimming at the hotel pool was their children’s favorite activity, so we’re preparing for & hoping for the opportunity to do the same with our little angels while we’re there.

I’m still not sure if I REALLY believe this is happening.  I mean, let’s be honest…this whole adoption thing has been in my heart forever…it’s been in my daily prayers for about 4 years…it’s been in process for almost 15 months and it’s been an emotional roller coaster of hopes, fears, blessings & crushing blows every step of the way.  I’d be lying if I didn’t say I am moving forward with trepidation, fearing another blow that knocks me down….but I am faithful to the ONE who has brought me this far.  I know HE is in complete control and that we will have our children home with us in HIS perfect timing.  I can’t imagine traveling this road without that LIGHT.

“LORD Almighty, God of Israel, you have revealed this to your servant, saying, ‘I will build a house for you.’ So your servant has found courage to pray this prayer to you. Sovereign LORD, you are God! Your covenant is trustworthy, and you have promised these good things to your servant. Now be pleased to bless the house of your servant, that it may continue forever in your sight; for you, Sovereign LORD, have spoken, and with your blessing the house of your servant will be blessed forever.”  ~2 Samuel 7:27-29

 

Leave a Reply

