Gaining Momentum

Sometimes you have to go down a steep slope to gain enough momentum to get up the other side.  Right now, I’m trying to think positively in that we are going down so fast, it *HAS* to propel us up & over the mountain before us…right?

Earlier this week, a fellow Ghana adoptive family was able to celebrate “Gotcha Day” (the day they pick up & keep their child forever) with their beautiful daughter, who happened to reside in the same orphanage as our children.  I was beyond excited for them…and for me, as the mom had offered to take some photos of our kids & send them to me!  Then, on Monday, I got the email from her…our children were not at the orphanage the day she was there to pick up her daughter, so she was unable to get any photos of them.  😦  I was/am heartbroken.  Thank you soooo much for trying though friend!!  I truly appreciate your willingness!!

Last week, another family who was fingerprinted the same week as us received their USCIS approval.  I have been eagerly rifling through the mail each day anticipating ours…but nothing.  Finally I called the USCIS Adoption Hotline this morning and was told that our case was only just assigned to an agent on Saturday (7/9/11) and that the agent was going to have to address the issue of my grandmother needing fingerprints taken.  UGH!  I listed my grandmother on the application & paid for her biometrics with ours several months ago…yet they only just realized she needs them done?!?!  I was connected to our agent’s voicemail, on which I left a message, but I have yet to hear back from her.  At this point it could be weeks or even months before they actually process everything & get us that 1 little piece of paper we are so eagerly awaiting!

In addition to that, there is still no word on when court will resume in Ghana.  We are anxiously awaiting ANY information on when we will be able to leave.  I am ready to book my flights & apply for my travel visa NOW…but I must wait.  😦

These latest developments (or lack thereof) have stirred a tumultuous battle within me.  The negativity from family, the mountains of red tape, the financial struggle…are all bearing down on me in true spiritual warfare.  I am truly crying out to Jesus in the most literal sense.  Please, if you pray, cover me.  Cover my family (both here & in Ghana) with the full Armor of God.  Thank you.

Finally, be strong in the Lord and in his mighty power.  Put on the full armor of God, so that you can take your stand against the devil’s schemes. For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers of this dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms. Therefore put on the full armor of God, so that when the day of evil comes, you may be able to stand your ground, and after you have done everything, to stand. Stand firm then, with the belt of truth buckled around your waist, with the breastplate of righteousness in place, and with your feet fitted with the readiness that comes from the gospel of peace. In addition to all this, take up the shield of faith, with which you can extinguish all the flaming arrows of the evil one. Take the helmet of salvation and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God.  And pray in the Spirit on all occasions with all kinds of prayers and requests. With this in mind, be alert and always keep on praying for all the Lord’s people. Pray also for me, that whenever I speak, words may be given me so that I will fearlessly make known the mystery of the gospel, for which I am an ambassador in chains. Pray that I may declare it fearlessly, as I should.  ~Ephesians 6:10-20

2 thoughts on “Gaining Momentum

  1. Praying, praying, praying. I know it feels like you won’t make it through another day of this, but you will. I don’t know how it will be for you, but it always seemed like God gave me just enough to get through another day (when we were adopting). I think He wanted me to rely on Him totally, so He didn’t give me strength several days in advance! But each day it came. I made it through. And my babies were so worth all of the struggle. You’re going to make it!

  2. Thank you for the prayers & encouragement, Anita. I definitely feel like God is getting me through one day at a time…and with no further strength than the day at hand. It’s comforting to know I’m not the only one who’s felt this way though.

Leave a Reply

