Rain

An odd title for a blog post, I’m sure…but rain is on my mind.  See, here at home we haven’t seen rain in about 2 months.  Mind you, this is following the wettest Spring in recorded history, which followed the coldest winter in recorded history.  It’s been a record-breaking weather year to say the least.  Lately, we’ve been enjoying an unusually warm summer (average highs in the 80s) and I’ve been loving every minute of it!  I can’t get enough of the hot summer sun.  But my lawn is looking rather brown.  Many of my friends are begging for rain.  I’m still quite content without the storms…or am I?

The weather seems to be imitating life.  There are seasons filled with joy & warmth (summer) and seasons of harsh cold & misery (winter).  There are seasons of death & mourning (autumn) and those that breathe new life again (spring).  I look out my window at the brown grass…and am thankful for this season of warmth…but I know that without some rain, there can not continue to be life.  So it may be in our lives.  Without storms to navigate through, we would rely too much upon ourselves and never have need to rely upon God…who brings us LIFE.  So while I am caught in the storm of uncertainty within our adoption journey, I shall wait upon the Lord, for He is my refuge & my strength.  (and maybe it’d be ok if it rained outside a little too…)

Then they cried out to the LORD in their trouble, and he brought them out of their distress.  He stilled the storm to a whisper; the waves of the sea were hushed.  They were glad when it grew calm, and he guided them to their desired haven.  Let them give thanks to the LORD for his unfailing love and his wonderful deeds for mankind.  ~Psalm 107:28-31

Posted in Uncategorized

2 thoughts on “Rain

  1. A BEAUTIFUL post, considering ALL of the storms that I have been walking through.

    While our adoption was 3 years ago, I full understand the challenges (frustrations) that international adoption can bring. So hard to WAIT and WAIT and WAIT.

    Laurel 🙂

  2. Awww…thanks Laurel! It’s always comforting to know others who understand the challenges, frustrations and emotions involved in this adoption adventure.

    Christy 🙂

Leave a Reply

