Time Can be a Blessing

I’m trying to find the positive in this seemingly endless wait.  I know that God’s timing is perfect and mine is seriously flawed (since my timing is innately selfish).  I want what I want and I want it right now!  Not sure if that’s human nature or just part of the American culture.  Whatever it is, it is not holy.  It is not what is right.  Therefore, I will continue to wait until the timing of our children’s homecoming is perfect…what a glorious day that will be!!

Throughout this adoption journey I have sought information, connection, and understanding within the adoptive community.  I have connected with other families through online forums & social networks.  I have made friendships that have become pillars in my strength as I travel down the road of international adoption with them.  An amazing group of believers, with whom I can bare my soul in request of prayer for myself, my family & my beloved children in Ghana and return the prayers for them as well.

One of the closet bonds I’ve formed is with a woman named Jenni, who has lived a seemingly parallel life to mine (in her adoption journey anyway), just a few hours away!  We have more similarities than can be counted…and thanks to the TIME we have as we both continue to wait for our children to come home, we decided to meet in person finally & connect more closely.  What a BLESSING!!!  We packed up our families & headed to Pittsburgh…just a few hours drive for each of us.  Our families spent 2 full days together…shopping, dining, playing, swimming, exploring…it was so much fun!  All of our children played wonderfully together the entire time.  Our husbands got along well (didn’t even know beforehand that they’re both IT guys!), and Jenni and I laughed & laughed over silly things like a doll we saw at IKEA.

What’s really awesome is the way God brought our 2 families together…through this journey of faith to care for orphans…that he connected our families with a bond we will forever share: the love of our God & Ghana.  I eagerly await the first big gathering of our families with ALL of our children there to share in the love.

Thanks again for joining us W family…we had a blast!  And thank you Jesus for bringing our families together through our obedience to your call.

He is the Rock, his works are perfect, and all his ways are just.  A faithful God who does no wrong, upright and just is he.  ~Deuteronomy 32:4

Leave a Reply

