The Sweetest Sound

It has been 19 days since we said good bye to Liam & Cora.  Since then their world has been anything but predictable.  Their orphanage flooded, they lost EVERYTHING, they were displaced and staying with their birth family.  They are now back at the orphanage and I’m sure wondering what tomorrow will bring.

I’ve tried every avenue I can find to seek expediting of our immigration paperwork so we can bring our children out of the crisis situation they are in and give them their first sense of stability…however USCIS is NOT a well-oiled machine and we have been bounced around like a pinball so many times I’m not even certain where to go next!  The good news, if I choose to find it, is that there is supposedly a 60 day maximum for approval of our case and we are already on day 28.  Hopefully they won’t take the full 60 days and we’ll get our approval VERY soon!  After that we just need to get their visas and we can bring them home!

The days at home without them are getting increasingly difficult, knowing the living conditions they are being subjected to in Ghana.  I am overwhelmed with thanks for a sweet, sweet friend I have made through this process named Amanda.  Amanda traveled to Ghana last week and will be in country until the beginning of January.  She is such a blessing to me, I can not put it to words.  She took photo albums for our kids, and nail polish for Cora’s fingers & toes.  But the greatest gift, by far, was the phone calls (yes multiple) I received from her during her stay at Christ Outreach Orphanage.  Saturday and again yesterday I received calls from Ghana with updates on our kids’ … and I got to TALK TO THEM!!!!  Oh what glorious, fall to my knees & praise God, kind of moments those have been!  Cora really doesn’t speak on the phone, but I would say something & she would repeat it or giggle in her adorable little way.  Liam doesn’t lead conversation, but he will respond to questions and such.  Yesterday I heard the sweetest sound…an unprompted “I love you Mommy” from my precious little boy.  My heart melted!!  I get teary-eyed just thinking about it.  Oh how my heart breaks for my babies stuck on the other side of the world!  I want to hold them and tell them over & over & over again how much Mommy loves them!!

Please God, move mountains to bring them home SOON!

I will proclaim the name of the LORD.  Oh, praise the greatness of our God!  He is the Rock, his works are perfect, and all his ways are just.  A faithful God who does no wrong, upright and just is he.  ~Deuteronomy 32:3-4

3 thoughts on “The Sweetest Sound

  1. Oh Chrosty!! I can only imagine how hearing that from Liam melted your heart!! Praying God would move mountains and bring your children home where they belong!!!

  2. It has been such an honor to play a little part in growing your family. Your kiddos are SO cute and precious! I’m so glad you all found each other! ❤

Leave a Reply

