Today’s the Day!

With all the chaos that associates itself with the homecoming of 2 children from Africa paired with the chaos of the week before Christmas, I haven’t been able to sit down to update this blog at all and I’m sorry I haven’t.  Not necessarily because I feel bad that those awaiting updates haven’t received them, but because I haven’t chronicled the emotional turmoil this week has held.  I have made it a focus of this blog to wear my heart on my sleeve for all to see.  I feel convicted that my transparency is essential in sharing this experience with our children in the future.  Unfortunately time has not been my friend this week.  Liam’s room isn’t finished.  The house is a mess.  I haven’t been grocery shopping.  I DID get Cora’s car seat assembled & installed in the van, but it took nearly an hour of my day which caused me to not get all the Christmas gifts wrapped.  I haven’t baked a single Christmas cookie or made any fudge.  I didn’t even get a chance to make any of the gifts I wanted to make for my children for Christmas.

This week has been crazy.  I have been all over the emotional map.  Of course I am overjoyed that we will have all 4 of our children together for Christmas, but at the same time I’m utterly heartbroken for all the children closing out yet another year in an orphanage.  I am especially broken for the children who have parents that are fully, legally their family, but who haven’t completed the immigration process yet.  Those children NEED to be HOME!  My heart breaks over and over and each time I cry out to Jesus, begging for His mercy and grace upon these families…that He would unite them forever as He promises in Psalm 68:6.

As I try my best to prepare for what’s to come in this next chapter in our lives, I can’t shake the heartache for those left behind.  There are millions of orphans in the world.  MILLIONS.  The most widely recognized figure is 147 MILLION orphans in the world.  That’s insane!  Now, not all of those children are freed for adoption.  Often times they live with extended family or they’re counted as orphans when 1 parent is deceased but the other parent still cares for the child.  That said, there are still tens of millions of children in this world that ARE cleared for adoption.  Approximately 100,000 of those are right here in the American foster system.  Each and every one of those children [regardless of age, race, medical conditions or family size (sibling groups)] deserves a FOREVER FAMILY!

I am so very thankful that God has brought Liam & Cora into our family.  They are a blessing to us in so many ways and we love them dearly.  I can’t wait to greet them at the airport in just seven hours!!!  I can’t wait to make them a part of our everyday lives and learn what it *really* means to be a mama of 4!

For tonight, as I pray for my husband and 2 youngest children as they travel across the world to come home on this most blessed Christmas Eve.  I pray, too, for the families still waiting for their “Gotcha Day” and the millions of children all over the world longing for a family to love & care for them…and for you, the person reading my little middle-of-the-night blog post, that you will listen for God’s call in your life in regards to how He’s calling you to care for orphans.  It may be adoption, it may be child sponsorship through fabulous organizations like Feeding the Orphans, Compassion International or Compassionate Journeys, it may be becoming a foster parent in your local community or organizing a toy drive for a local children’s group home.  Whatever it is, I pray your heart is open to hearing the still small voice of God and that you choose to follow the path He sets before you.  I can’t promise it’ll be easy, but I can promise it WILL be worth it!!!  Just look at us…after 2 years of ups & downs, we’re living out a true Christmas Miracle!!!

 

Learn to do right; seek justice.  Defend the oppressed.  Take up the cause of the fatherless; plead the case of the widow.  ~Isaiah 1:17

One thought on “Today’s the Day!

  1. We are so excited for you!! What an amazing testimony to Gods faithfulness. My heart too breaks for the millions of children without mommies and daddies ;(

    Enjoy your homecoming, so glad Julie will be documenting it!!

    Merry Christmas Schrecengost Family… Of SIX!!!!

Leave a Reply

